Independent, reader-firstAUD prices, GST shownEvery price datedAUNZUK
Home › Builders › Estimating & takeoff

Estimating and takeoff software for Australian builders

Four tools Australian builders and trades price jobs with. You get the AUD price with GST added like for like, whether it's per user or per business, and what each does from takeoff to quote. None of them pays us a commission.

Which one fits your business

A residential builder or renovator, whole teamBuildxact

Digital takeoffs, supplier integration and customisable quote letters on every plan, with unlimited users. Foundation is $2,233 a year inc GST billed annually, or $219 a month. 14-day free trial.

No commission.

Detailed commercial estimates and BoQsCubit Estimating

Trace takeoffs over PDF, CAD, BIM and image plans, import supplier pricing, and run as desktop or managed cloud. Standard is $2,244 a user a year inc GST (12-month minimum). Integrates with Xero.

No commission. 14-day trial on request.

A trade business measuring in the browserGroundplan

Cloud takeoff that runs on any device: measure and count on uploaded PDFs, send estimates to quotes and push data to Xero. Built for trades such as electrical, plumbing, fire and roofing. $1,089 a seat a year inc GST.

No commission. 7-day trial.

How we make money: on this page, we don't. None of these vendors pays us, so every link is a plain link. Buildsoft (Cubit) runs a customer referral scheme; we haven't joined it. Disclosure.

Side by side

The four tools compared

Entry plan, AUD with GST added (all three published prices are ex GST). Buildxact is priced per business with unlimited users; Cubit and Groundplan are per user, so check the team table below. Every price and fact links to the vendor's page.

Checked
21 Oct 2026
BuildxactBuildxact · Builder estimatingVisit siteCubit EstimatingBuildsoft · Estimating and takeoffVisit siteGroundplanGroundplan · Online takeoffVisit siteDatabuildDatabuild · Builder business softwareVisit site
Price (per user unless marked)
Per yearAUD inc GST unless marked$2,233/yrFoundation, unlimited users, billed annually source$2,244/yrStandard, per user, billed annually (12-month minimum) source$1,089/yr1 seat, billed yearly sourceOn requestPrice on request source
Billed monthly instead$219/mo$224/mo$109/mo–
Prices include GST?No, GST addedNo, GST addedNo, GST addedNot stated
Other plans (per year)Pro $4,477
Master $6,721
Professional $2,983
Enterprise $3,366
––
Fit
Cloud or desktopRuns in the browser (app.buildxact.com), plus the Onsite mobile app sourceDesktop app or managed cloud-hosted version sourceCloud, runs in a browser on any device sourceWindows software; hosting only via a partner source
On-screen takeoff from plansDigital takeoffs, every plan sourceTrace over PDF, CAD, BIM and image plans sourceMeasure and count on uploaded PDF plans sourceNot mentioned on vendor pages source
Australian supplier price filesSupplier integration, every plan sourceImports supplier pricing; AU suppliers not named sourceRates upload from CSV; supplier price files not stated sourceNot mentioned on vendor pages source
Quotes from the estimateCustomisable quote letters sourceBoQ reports and PDF/Excel export; client quote not stated sourceEstimates sent to quotes, or via integrations sourceEstimates convert into quotations source
Connects to XeroSends purchase and invoice data to Xero, MYOB and QuickBooks Online sourceIntegrates with Xero sourcePush data to Xero sourceNot mentioned; KeyPay payroll integration listed source
Free trial14-day free trial source14 days, all Enterprise features, via request form source7-day free trial sourceNo trial listed; free demonstration only source
Honesty
Do we earn from this link?No. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commission
Visit BuildxactVisit BuildsoftVisit GroundplanVisit Databuild
✓ confirmed on the vendor's own page? not confirmed yet (not the same as missing)* price as shown, GST not statedOrder: as in the guide, never by commission
Down to two?Buildxact vs CubitRead the head to head →
Costs

What a team pays per year

Per-user tools add up as your estimating team grows; Buildxact's price stays the same for any number of users, so read its row as the price for the whole business.

Per year1 seat3 seats5 seats10 seats
BuildxactFoundation, unlimited users, billed annually. One price for the whole business$2,233$2,233$2,233$2,233
Cubit EstimatingStandard, per user, billed annually (12-month minimum)$2,244$6,732$11,220$22,440
Groundplan1 seat, billed yearly$1,089$3,267$5,445$10,890

List price × seats, before any volume or reseller discount (none are published). AUD prices include GST. * GST not stated.

Use your free trial properly

The estimating trial checklist

  1. Price a job you've already wonUse real plans and your real rates. Compare the trial estimate with what the job actually cost.
  2. Do a full takeoff on one floorWalls, floor areas, openings and counts. Time it against how you do it now.
  3. Load your supplier pricesCheck how your merchant's price file comes in, and how often it updates.
  4. Send a quote to yourselfDoes it look like your business? Can a client accept it online?
  5. Push it to your accountsTurn the quote into an invoice in Xero or MYOB and check GST lands correctly.
FAQ

Builders ask

How much does Buildxact cost in Australia?

Buildxact's Australian pricing page lists Foundation at A$2,030 a year billed annually, with unlimited users. Its prices exclude GST, so that's $2,233 a year including GST, or $219 a month if you pay monthly. Pro and Master cost more.

Is Cubit priced per user?

Yes. Buildsoft lists Cubit Estimating Standard at A$2,040 per user per year plus GST, billed annually ($2,244 including GST), or $224 a month inc GST billed monthly, with a 12-month minimum term.

Which estimating software has a free trial?

Buildxact offers 14 days, Cubit 14 days (through a request form) and Groundplan 7 days. Databuild lists a free demonstration rather than a trial.

About the author

Josh founded Studio to Site to give Australian trades, builders and design offices a straight answer on the software they run on: prices in AUD with GST shown, checked at the source and dated, and anything unconfirmed clearly marked. Most reviews online are written for American firms or by the software companies themselves. This one is written for Australian businesses.

More about us · How we test · Last checked 20 October 2026