Independent, reader-firstAUD prices, GST shownEvery price datedAUNZUK
Home › Design offices › Practice management

Practice management for architects and engineers

Once a studio has staff, spreadsheets stop telling you which jobs make money. These six tools track time against fee stages, invoice from the project and plan who works on what. Most price on request, so we say which do and don't publish, and what each connects to.

Which one fits your business

An Australian practice of 10 to 100+ peopleSynergy

Built in Australia for architecture and engineering firms: time tracking, invoicing and resource allocation, with a two-way Xero add-on. Price on request after a demo. Note: Monograph announced in August 2026 that it is merging with Total Synergy.

No commission.

You want a published price and a trialProjectworks

Timesheets, resourcing, invoicing and forecasting from the Build plan, with Xero sync. $420* a user a year billed annually (minimum 10 users, GST not stated). 21-day trial, no card.

No commission.

A small studio that just needs time and invoicesHarvest

General time tracking and invoicing, not design-specific, but simple. Free for 1 seat and 2 projects; Teams is US$108 a seat a year in US dollars (about A$170 with GST). Copies invoices to Xero. 30-day trial.

No commission.

How we make money: on this page, we don't. None of these six vendors pays us, so every link is a plain link. Synergy and Projectworks run partner programs for accountants and integrators; we haven't joined either. Disclosure.

Side by side

The six tools compared

Where a vendor doesn't publish a price, we say so rather than quote a figure from a review site. Every confirmed fact links to the vendor's own page.

Checked
21 Oct 2026
Total SynergyTotal Synergy (merging with Monograph, announced Aug 2026) · A&E practice managementVisit siteMonographMonograph (merging with Total Synergy, announced Aug 2026) · A&E practice managementVisit siteProjectworksProjectworks · Professional services PSAVisit siteDeltek VantagepointDeltek · A&E ERPVisit siteBQE COREBQE Software · A&E practice managementVisit siteHarvestHarvest · Time trackingVisit site
Price per user
Per yearAUD inc GST unless markedOn requestPrice on request sourceOn requestPrice on request source$420*/yrBuild, per user, billed annually (min 10 users) sourceOn requestPrice on request sourceOn requestPrice on request sourceUS$108/yr≈ A$170Teams, per seat, billed annually source
Billed monthly instead––––––
Prices include GST?Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedUSD only, GST not stated
Other plans (per year)––Scale $504*
Unleash $600*
––Free (1 seat, 2 projects) Free
Enterprise US$168
Fit
Cloud or desktopCloud-based sourceWeb-based, no installation sourceNot stated on pages checked sourceCloud; over 80% of customers use Deltek Cloud source100% cloud-hosted, runs in a browser sourceWeb, desktop (Mac, Windows) and mobile apps source
Timesheets against projectsTrack Time module sourceTime Tracking feature sourceTimesheets included from Build plan sourceTimesheet and expense entry sourceTime and expense, pre-populated timesheets sourceWeekly and daily timesheets source
Invoices from project feesProcess Invoices module sourceInvoicing and project accounting sourceInvoicing and forecasting from Build plan sourceBilling and invoicing workflows sourceManual and batch invoicing sourceInvoicing on all plans source
Connects to XeroXero add-on, two-way data exchange sourceOnly QuickBooks Online named; Xero not mentioned sourceInvoices, expenses and payments sync with Xero sourceXero not listed among integrations sourceXero named on integrations page sourceCopies Harvest invoices to Xero source
Resource and workload planningAllocate Resources module sourceStaffing, project and capacity planning sourceResourcing included from Build plan sourceResource views and staffing forecasts sourceResource Planning feature sourceHarvest Forecast, separate product source
Free trialDemo and tour only; no trial stated sourceLive demos for select firms; no trial stated source21 days, no card sourcePersonalised demo only; no trial stated sourceFAQ mentions a trial; terms not stated source30 days on paid plans; Free plan too source
Honesty
Do we earn from this link?No. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commissionNo. Plain link, no commission
Visit Total Synergy (merging with Monograph, announced Aug 2026)Visit Monograph (merging with Total Synergy, announced Aug 2026)Visit ProjectworksVisit DeltekVisit BQE SoftwareVisit Harvest
✓ confirmed on the vendor's own page? not confirmed yet (not the same as missing)* price as shown, GST not stated≈ A$ = converted at the RBA rate of 20 Oct 2026, GST added; your bank's rate will differOrder: as in the guide, never by commission
The real decision

What to ask in every demo

  • Fee stages, not just hours: can it track a fixed fee by stage (concept, DA, CD) and show percentage complete against hours spent?
  • Your accounting system: confirm a two-way Xero or MYOB sync on your plan, and what syncs: invoices only, or payments and contacts too.
  • Australian GST and BAS: invoices must show GST correctly. Ask to see an Australian tax invoice.
  • Getting your data out: ask how you export timesheets, invoices and project history if you leave.
  • The contract: minimum users, minimum term, and onboarding fees. Projectworks, for example, lists a 10-user minimum and onboarding from $1,000.
FAQ

Practices ask

Are Synergy and Monograph merging?

Monograph's own blog announced in August 2026 that it is merging with Total Synergy, the Australian practice management company. Both products are still sold. Ask either vendor what the merger means for your plan before you sign a long contract.

Which practice management tools connect to Xero?

Synergy (a Xero add-on with two-way data exchange), Projectworks, BQE CORE and Harvest all state Xero integrations on their own pages. We couldn't confirm Xero for Monograph or Deltek Vantagepoint.

Which practice management tools publish their prices?

Of the six, only Projectworks and Harvest publish per-user prices. Synergy, Monograph, Deltek and BQE CORE price on request after a demo.

About the author

Josh founded Studio to Site to give Australian trades, builders and design offices a straight answer on the software they run on: prices in AUD with GST shown, checked at the source and dated, and anything unconfirmed clearly marked. Most reviews online are written for American firms or by the software companies themselves. This one is written for Australian businesses.

More about us · How we test · Last checked 20 October 2026